Faculty of Medicine, Wayamba University of Sri Lanka




 Current News....



Welcome Ceremony of Inaugural Batch 2017/2018
The inaugural batch of students, for the academic year 2018 was welcomed by the Faculty of Medicine,
Wayamba University of Sri Lanka….. Read more

Upcoming Events


“Wayambin Deyata” Exhibition 2019- Wayamba University of Sri Lanka



 History & Overview

The Wayamba University is located at Kuliyapitiya Electorate of Kurunegala District in the North Western Province having over 2.3 Mn. population, which accounts for about 11.6 % of the total population in Sri Lanka.

Establishing a new Faculty of Medicine at a distant  University needs to meet certain basic criteria in view of the scope for medical education such as availability of patients, reasonably developed hospitals for clinical training, a passage between faculty premises and the hospital, recruitment and retention of qualified staff and room availability for sustainable development in future.

The Wayamba university is fortunate in having access to two most developed hospitals in the North Western Province viz. the Kuliyapitiya Base Hospital and the Teaching hospital at Kurunegala. In establishing, a 28 acre land in Labuyaya area on the  Kuliyapitiya –Kurunegala main road was identified.

It would be possible for the Kuliyapitiya Base Hospital to provide clinical training for about 100 medical students during the first 2-3 years until the Professorial Unit is set up and facilities of the hospital are upgraded to that of a teaching hospital so that the latter half of the programme can also be conducted at Kuliyapitiya Hospital itself.

There will be fifteen (15) Departments of Study, namely Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, Community Medicine, Family Medicine, Forensic Medicine, Microbiology, Parasitology, Pathology, Pharmacology, Medicine, Surgery, Paediatrics, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Psychiatry and Medical Education.