Postgraduate Degrees, Research & Development 

Chairman        : Dr. WAS Wijesinghe

                              Faculty of Applied Sciences


Secretary         : Mrs. DMKG Niroshini

                               Senior Assistant Registrar/Academic

The Senate and Higher Degrees Committee (SRHDC), a University – wide committee, is responsible to the Senate for the development and management of strategic policies in meeting matters concerning higher degrees and research at the University. The SRHDC consists of the Vice-Chancellor, all Deans, Registrar, Librarian, Chairpersons of Faculty Higher Degrees Committees, Chairpersons of Faculty Research and Higher Degrees Committees, Representatives from the faculties, Directors of Computer Unites, two Senate Nominees, two eminent researchers with postgraduate qualifications from outside organizations.

The SRHDC looks for way to raise the profile of academics of the University, better ways of serving its academic community and encouraging them to actively participate in research. In this connection, the University awards moderate research grants to permanent academic staff, conducts University academic sessions and provides limited financial assistance to register at local/ international conference to present their research findings. The University research grant scheme intends to supplement the financial and resource requirements for research at the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka. The aim of this research grant scheme is to facilitate scientific and technological research at the University while promoting human resource development in relevant field and providing training to junior academic staff.

The University confers postgraduate degrees by research which includes M.Sc, M.Phil. and Ph.D., in respective disciplines to those who successfully complete postgraduate research leading to such degree under the supervision of senior academics in the Faculties. The SRHDC deliberates on the candidature of postgraduate research students and is responsible for maintaining appropriate academic standards in respect of postgraduate research.

Latest News

  • New Progress Report Format +

    The revised “Progress Report Format” for the Postgraduate Research Degrees (M.Phil. and PhD) of Wayamba University of Sri Lanka, which is effective from 21 June 2017. Please refer to the download section.


    SENIOR RESEARCHER AWARD - 2016 Prof. Udith K. Jayasinghe-Mudalige, the Chair Professor of Dept. of Agribusiness Management, has been awarded the ‘Most Outstanding Senior Researcher – 2016’ of the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka (WUSL) in the Wayamba University Annual Research Congress held recently. Read More
  • New Thesis Preparation Guides +

    New thesis preparation guidelines have been approved by the Senate and Higher Degrees Committee. See the download section of this page for more information.
  • Amendments to The By-Laws +

    The By Laws of Postgraduate Research Degrees No. 01 of 2014” for Post Graduate Research Degrees of Wayamba University of Sri Lanka have been updated. 

    Please check the "By laws" in the main menu.

  • 1